slednutz tech lounge
 

Go Back   SledNutZ > On the Snow... > Polaris > Polaris General Discussion
Ibreakstuff Says: Time to start the snow dance!
Register FAQSled Chat Members List Casino Media Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Statistics

SledNutZ Quick Info
Friends of SledNutZ: JohnDee
GreenHulk.net PWC forums
Great Lakes Jeep Thing
Team Belly Pan Sled Forums
PEPPERMILL RENTALS IN THE YOOP! There's no where better to stay in the Rockland/Mass area!
Web hosting by Floogy

polaris timing marks

Polaris General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-24-2008
mach1
if its to hard to do,then it aint worth doing
mach1's Info
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: redneck ville,maine 00420
Posts: 908
Default polaris timing marks

does anyone know where the timing marks are on a 89 indy 500,i had a shop rebuild mine and they never maked it,before the took it apart,all she does is back fires and runs on one cyclinder,ive checked comp 150 each carbs ,fuel cleaned checked gas lines,and plugs.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-24-2008
OCR's Avatar
OCR
Summer Sux!!
OCR's Info
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Groton NY
Posts: 4,608
Default

You need a timing light. Marks on flywheel line up at 5000 rpm.
__________________
Old Cat Rider

'93 Wildcat 700EFI w/ Comet 108 Pro-4 clutch & 01 ZR skid

http://www.dcdrifters.net/

http://twintiersleddin.proboards76.com/index.cgi

Worshipful Master; F&AM Dryden Lodge# 472
Dryden Lodge #472 Dryden
Quote:
we are all given sh*t in life, but some of us learn to turn it into fertilizer and grow from it, and some us try to fling it on others like monkeys
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-25-2008
mach1
if its to hard to do,then it aint worth doing
mach1's Info
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: redneck ville,maine 00420
Posts: 908
Default

how do i use a timing light when it not running ,because she wont run with the mag off
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-25-2008
OCR's Avatar
OCR
Summer Sux!!
OCR's Info
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Groton NY
Posts: 4,608
Default

pull the fly wheel and check for old screw marks and reset it there. Assemble and check.
__________________
Old Cat Rider

'93 Wildcat 700EFI w/ Comet 108 Pro-4 clutch & 01 ZR skid

http://www.dcdrifters.net/

http://twintiersleddin.proboards76.com/index.cgi

Worshipful Master; F&AM Dryden Lodge# 472
Dryden Lodge #472 Dryden
Quote:
we are all given sh*t in life, but some of us learn to turn it into fertilizer and grow from it, and some us try to fling it on others like monkeys
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-25-2008
mach1
if its to hard to do,then it aint worth doing
mach1's Info
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: redneck ville,maine 00420
Posts: 908
Default

i count find any screw marks,the case ,crank and stator all come off 3 diff sleds,if its off by a mm will that make a big dif
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-25-2008
OCR's Avatar
OCR
Summer Sux!!
OCR's Info
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Groton NY
Posts: 4,608
Default

Yes.
__________________
Old Cat Rider

'93 Wildcat 700EFI w/ Comet 108 Pro-4 clutch & 01 ZR skid

http://www.dcdrifters.net/

http://twintiersleddin.proboards76.com/index.cgi

Worshipful Master; F&AM Dryden Lodge# 472
Dryden Lodge #472 Dryden
Quote:
we are all given sh*t in life, but some of us learn to turn it into fertilizer and grow from it, and some us try to fling it on others like monkeys
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-25-2008
Madcow's Avatar
Madcow
1050 one lunger
Madcow's Info
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: pine city mn.
Posts: 5,054
Default

on the stator there should be a small line, and on the case there should be a small line.
__________________
If the boner police are here I need a lawyer.

in a time of deciet telling the truth is a revolutionary act. george orwell.

aint no body ripin like me. M to the a-d-c-o-w. rock it hard for my fly ladies. I rock it yes in deed. homies still roll with me. money dont change me


nothing goes like 3 holes.

BRTECH HOODS
high performance engineering
aaen performance
millennium technologies
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-25-2008
mach1
if its to hard to do,then it aint worth doing
mach1's Info
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: redneck ville,maine 00420
Posts: 908
Default

theres no lines on it,any where,i thought there was one but its just the two cases together
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-25-2008
mach1
if its to hard to do,then it aint worth doing
mach1's Info
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: redneck ville,maine 00420
Posts: 908
Default

would the line be in top or towards a side? because i cant find anything that looks like a line.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 Slednutz.com