slednutz tech lounge
 

Go Back   SledNutZ > On the Snow... > Polaris > Polaris General Discussion
Ibreakstuff Says: Time to start the snow dance!
Register FAQSled Chat Members List Casino Media Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Statistics

SledNutZ Quick Info
Friends of SledNutZ: JohnDee
GreenHulk.net PWC forums
Great Lakes Jeep Thing
Team Belly Pan Sled Forums
PEPPERMILL RENTALS IN THE YOOP! There's no where better to stay in the Rockland/Mass area!
Web hosting by Floogy

5" gauge upgrade

Polaris General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2007
Gotmud's Avatar
Gotmud
Poo Slinger
Gotmud's Info
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bloomingdale, Mi.
Posts: 9,425
Default 5" gauge upgrade

Last year I switched pods to the 5" gauge pod. I was told it came from a triple and just took their word. Well it didn't work but I left it for the season since there wasn't much left. I bought one from a member on here and it's inaccurate. Unlike the 5" tach from last year the new one does work, just not correctly. It said I was idling at 500rpm and it engaged about 2000rpm. Now the kicker is both 5" tachs are 6 pulse which I believe a triple is suppose to have. The stock 3.5" tach is a 3 pulse tach. Do I need to go through the wiring or do I need a new tach? I also noticed last night that the lights don't work on the 5" pod but it does on the stock 3.5" gauge pod. That's why I'm thinking I need to go through the wiring.
__________________
Rich
"Do not go where the path may LEAD, go instead where there is no path and leave a TRAIL"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubi View Post
Nobody on this site likes Ski Doo except Dirty Harry, and he's better at making babies than buying or fixing sleds, so you don't want to listen to him.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2007
the_hog
800 Triple
the_hog's Info
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NFB
Posts: 1,218
Default 5" gauge upgrade

I believe the 650/RXLs are a 3 pulse system. Dont quote me on that though. I am sure someone knows for sure.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-16-2007
Gotmud's Avatar
Gotmud
Poo Slinger
Gotmud's Info
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bloomingdale, Mi.
Posts: 9,425
Default 5" gauge upgrade

Your right. I'm now searching for a 3 pulse tach. Should anyone need a 5" 6 pulse tach I have a couple for sale lol.
__________________
Rich
"Do not go where the path may LEAD, go instead where there is no path and leave a TRAIL"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubi View Post
Nobody on this site likes Ski Doo except Dirty Harry, and he's better at making babies than buying or fixing sleds, so you don't want to listen to him.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-24-2007
wiguy05
Yeah, I'm a prick
wiguy05's Info
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to wiguy05 Send a message via MSN to wiguy05 Send a message via Yahoo to wiguy05
Default 5" gauge upgrade

Yep the 650's were a 3 pulse system. I'm pretty sure Polaris never made a 5" 3 pulse tach. The only 5" gauges were the 6 pulse of the triples and 2 pulse of the small fanners.
__________________
2006 Polaris Fusion 600HO
BMP Pipe mod, SLP Air kit.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 Slednutz.com