slednutz tech lounge
 

Go Back   SledNutZ > On the Snow... > Polaris > Polaris General Discussion
Ibreakstuff Says: Time to start the snow dance!
Register FAQSled Chat Members List Casino Media Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Statistics

SledNutZ Quick Info
Friends of SledNutZ: JohnDee
GreenHulk.net PWC forums
Great Lakes Jeep Thing
Team Belly Pan Sled Forums
PEPPERMILL RENTALS IN THE YOOP! There's no where better to stay in the Rockland/Mass area!
Web hosting by Floogy

How to get my hand warmers working

Polaris General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2012
westman995
westman995
westman995's Info
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,675
Default How to get my hand warmers working

I dont think these things worked ever since i put the sled together. All the lights work just fine. The hand/thumb warmers do not work at all.

I unplugged the regulator, i didnt notice anything. I tried to check for voltage at the regulator as i would assume there should be voltage at it, but there wasnt anything at all. I even tried another voltage regulator and it did nothing. Also tried checking for voltage at the handwarmer connector and again no voltage.

Any ideas? As far as i can tell I think the regulator is working fine but i dont know why i cant get voltage at any of those wires. Especially at the voltage regulator itself.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2012
westman995
westman995
westman995's Info
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,675
Default

Also i assume the regulator works fine cuz when its idling the lights arent real bright but if you bring the rpm's up its bright.. so that means the regulator is working fine, right??
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2012
CWPottenger's Avatar
CWPottenger
Polaris Guy
CWPottenger's Info
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,056
Default

typically if lights are working correctly then regulator is good.

Usually with hand/thumb warmers it is a ground issue or a "split" in the element itself.
Check for voltage at the warmer switch. Sometimes it is the switch itself.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2012
CWPottenger's Avatar
CWPottenger
Polaris Guy
CWPottenger's Info
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,056
Default

How's it been?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-31-2012
westman995
westman995
westman995's Info
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,675
Default

I checked for voltage at the switch also, same thing.. If i rev it up it reads less than 1 volt.

I have another pair of bars and i plugged the hand warmer in on it and it didnt work either. For some reason i dont think its getting power to the warmers.

is it supposed to read voltage off the yellow regulator wire?? It just reads that less than 1 volt there also.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-31-2012
westman995
westman995
westman995's Info
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,675
Default

I also sanded down the regulator and the chassis where it mounts just for the hell of it.. it didnt do anything either. So my regulator has to be working right, since all my lights work just fine.

I would say broken wire but it doesnt even read voltage right off the regulator so i have no idea what to check..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-01-2013
CWPottenger's Avatar
CWPottenger
Polaris Guy
CWPottenger's Info
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,056
Default

What model sled? some sleds actually use an AC wave not a DC
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-01-2013
westman995
westman995
westman995's Info
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,675
Default

Its a 98 rmk 700. I THINK i tried it on AC setting also, but ill have to check again to be sure.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-01-2013
Rubi's Avatar
Rubi
Boonditcher
Rubi's Info
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Alexandria, MN
Posts: 3,617
Default

Check the brown wire where it comes out of the stator. See if you have power down there.

I suck balls with a multimeter. I couldn't find voltage anywhere in my car even though the only things not working were the heater fan and a tail light. I think I had the thing set for megavolts or something. I finally changed some setting and then it read right.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-06-2013
westman995
westman995
westman995's Info
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,675
Default

I honestly have no idea what the problem was with this thing. As far as i could tell the power wire was (or is?) grounded out.. But now its working And the only thing i really did was put another switch on it since i broke the one that was on it.

Also i was trying to read dc volts and it is in fact AC volts, so that must have been why i couldnt get a reading.

But, they work now. Just on one setting. As far as i can tell one side on both of the warmers do no work. But its working at least. No idea what the problem was lol
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-06-2013
DirtylilWolfess's Avatar
DirtylilWolfess
Ilovespankings.com
DirtylilWolfess's Info
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NW Minnesota
Posts: 2,839
Default

Did you try swearing at it?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-07-2013
westman995
westman995
westman995's Info
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,675
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtylilWolfess View Post
Did you try swearing at it?

Plenty of swearing during the troubleshooting of those fuckin handwarmers!! lol
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-08-2013
DirtylilWolfess's Avatar
DirtylilWolfess
Ilovespankings.com
DirtylilWolfess's Info
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NW Minnesota
Posts: 2,839
Default

Dammit anyhow.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007 Slednutz.com